Timothy walked back from the station with Lucy in silence. The visit to his mum’s had certainly given him a lot to think about.

 

Did Anne really still love him? She had been his best friend ever since he could remember. Walking along he began thinking back to his childhood, she had always been there. He had been such a nervous child and he had gained comfort from Anne’s familiar face, day after day.

 

 

Then had come the School prom and the impromptu kiss and they had started dating. It had seemed the thing to do at the time.

He had always loved her as his friend, but for him that was where it had ended. If it hadn’t been for his Dad’s last words to him, the relationship would have dissolved much sooner.

Yet finally at University he had got up the courage to end it and it had been such a relief, he had thought she felt the same, but now he wondered.

Timothy, lost in his own thoughts, didn’t notice Lucy not saying a word. She was thinking too, wondering if the man she loved was about to leave her. Once they were back on campus, Lucy, breaking her silence, turned to Timothy and asked “What are you gonna do now?”

Timothy answered distractedly “I need to speak to Anne” he didn’t see the way her face fell as he said this and mumbling something she went to her room.

Timothy found Anne alone in the sitting room watching TV. “Hey” said Anne looking up as Timothy came into the room, before she went back to watching.

“Hi” said Timothy sitting down next to her trying to frame the questions in his mind. After a few minutes reflection he asked “Anne, can we talk?”

Anne glanced up at Timothy, at the sight of his serious face looking back at her, she flicked off the TV.

“Anne, I want to ask you a question and I need you to tell me the truth, it’s very important.”

“Sure” said Anne looking anxiously at him.

“Do you love me… more than a friend?”

Anne started and went red, “Why do you ask me such a silly question?”

“That’s not an answer Anne, I need to know.”

Hope blossomed in Anne’s heart for a moment; maybe he cared for her too? But the thought of Lucy burst her hopes.

“Anne?” insisted Timothy

“Yes I do.” She replied quietly looking at her feet, unwilling to meet his gaze.

“Oh Anne, why did you never say? Here was me going on about Lucy all the time. If I had known, I would have never… Why didn’t you say?” 

 “How could I?” She answered suddenly looking up “You just assumed and everyday it got harder and harder. Anyway I had lost my boyfriend, I didn’t want to lose my best friend too.” She got up and moved to the window, needing distance between them.

Timothy watched her for a minute before replying. “I’m so sorry Anne, for all the pain I have caused you. You have been my best friend for as long as I can remember. I never meant to hurt you.”

Anne turned, Timothy thought she looked tired and weary “I know you never meant to hurt me, I should have said.” She sighed heavily and continued “Everything doesn’t stay the same does it? However much we want it to.”

With that she turned away and left the room.

https://wintersmith.wordpress.com/2008/07/15/chapter-38-anne-gets-a-life/

